The hardest part about being plant based is life without CHEESE! I don’t know about you, but it was a huge part of my diet and was one of the hardest things to cut out (especially when you’re a wine lover too). Honestly, cutting out dairy was one of the biggest changes I had to make because of the intolerances that I have- and I have never felt BETTER. Cheese is highly processed, extremely high in fat, cholesterol, and sodium, and does absolutely nothing positive for our bodies :/ Replacing cheese is actually pretty easy once you get over the addiction- there are a million other things you could eat instead that doesn’t leave you with a stomach ache or feeling heavy.

So, what did I do?

I went in search of a replacement and this is what I found, check it out and try it yourself! I just went to the public market yesterday to load up on raw natural cashews and will be trying out this recipe this weekend. I’ll post the results!

 

GARLIC CASHEW CHEESE
PREP TIME
6 hours
COOK TIME
5 mins
TOTAL TIME
6 hours 5 mins
Extra smooth with a subtle garlic flavor, this vegan cashew cheese will make you forget about dairy.
Author: WIN-WIN FOOD
Recipe type: Appetizer
Cuisine: Healthy, Raw, Vegan, Gluten-Free, Paleo
Serves: 2
INGREDIENTS
  • 1 cup (130g) raw cashews
  • 1-2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • juice of ½ lemon
  • ¼-1/2 teaspoon salt (depends on taste and dietary requirements)
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil (or more if the mixture is too dry to blend, sub almond milk or water for an oil-free alternative)
  • 4-6 garlic cloves, roasted at 350 (180 Celsius) for about 20 minutes (if that sounds like too much work to you, use 1 teaspoon garlic powderinstead)
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Cover cashews with water and let soak for about 6 hours.
  2. Drain, put in a food processor and mix with the rest of ingredients until smooth.
  3. For best results, chill before serving (the mixture cools off from the processing and the flavors blend together nicely).
  4. Enjoy!

 

Cheers!

Cess